• (02) 6772 9123
  • mail@snelandcare.org.au

    Latest News

    Biodiversity Conservation Trust Board Enters New Era

    Chocolate Lilly320Three new members have been appointed to the board of the Biodiversity Conservation Trust (BCT) to help drive conservation outcomes on private land across NSW, including CEO of Southern New England Landcare, Ms Karen Zirkler.

    Environment Minister Matt Kean said the new board members will bring a wealth of skills and experience to the board.

    “In just three years, more than 230 private landholders have signed or committed to entering into a conservation agreement with the BCT, creating conservation areas across 59,300 hectares of the State,” Mr Kean said.

    “The new board members will play a key role in growing that footprint and continuing the important work to protect and conserve important biodiversity on private land and work in partnership with landholders across NSW.”

    The new appointees are:

    • Mr John Pierce AO: former NSW Treasury Secretary and Chairman and Commissioner of the Australian Energy Market Commission.
    • Prof. Hon. Niall Blair: former NSW Minister and Professor of Food Sustainability at Charles Sturt University.
    • Ms Karen Zirkler: CEO of Southern New England Landcare and former non-Executive Director and CEO of a non-for-profit organisation focused on biodiversity protection in the agricultural sector. 

    The Minister thanked outgoing inaugural Chair, the Hon Robert Hill AC, and outgoing members Dr Neil Byron, Ms Renata Brooks and the Hon. Gary Nairn AO for their service and advocacy for biodiversity throughout NSW.

    “Mr Hill has overseen the establishment of the BCT and the implementation of successful programs to accelerate private land conservation in NSW,” Mr Kean said.

    “I also want to thank Dr Neil Byron, Ms Renata Brooks and the Hon. Gary Nairn AO for their contribution to protecting our State’s extraordinary natural environment and wish them all the best for their next ventures.”

    The new members join continuing board member Ms Virginia Malley, Dr David Freudenberger, Mr Duncan McGregor and Mr Russell Taylor.

    The Biodiversity Conservation Trust Board was established in 2017 under the Biodiversity Conservation Act 2016.

    Image - Chocolate Lilly near Kentucky, NSW courtesy Karen Zirkler.

    Donate to SNELandcare

    Thank you for your donation


    Our Proud Supporters

    Subscribe with us

    I wish to receive SNELandcare's regular eNews to stay abreast of upcoming landcare opportunities. I understand I can unsubscribe any time.
    Become a member to also receive our quarterly full colour Landchat in your letterbox, showcasing the great achievements of our members. Click the Membership menu to join.

    Connect with us

    EOI Form

    Use our
    Expression of Interest Form 
    to tell us about project ideas you need help with.